Luckily I found his full statement from the web and at least I (we) could react on this. Here's what Mayweather said
"Personally, I think Pacquiao got exposed in that fight for being one-dimensional. You can have all [the] offensive ability in the world but with no defense you're not going to last long against a good counter puncher such as myself. Look at the way Clottey was getting through, each time he threw something it landed. Then at the end Pacquiao's was all busted up, when’s the last time you’ve seen my face all messed up like that? That’s the difference between an amateur and a true pound for pound boxer."
"The attendance numbers ain't nothing compared to what I have drawn in the past or what I would have drawn if that was me in the ring that night, everybody knows that. Half those seats were empty in the back and people say Pacquiao is a draw? Let's not forget who generated 2.5 million PPV buys in one fight alone. The only reason why he’s popular is because he's an ethnic minority and from the Philippines so it's something special. If he was from Africa he would be just another boxer."
Personally, I agree that Pacman did exposed himself during the fight on Clottey but I believe that it is part of his strategy to lure out Clottey from his defensive shell. Boxing is not a beauty contest but a strategic action-packed sports that involves faces to be inline. I agree with Mayweather that his face is not messed up every time he fight (like Clottey) because he is a defensive fighter and loves to run around the ring with his pretty face. I believe that its not true that Pacquiao is one-dimensional, the Pacman can adjust to any situation given to him for different fighters.
Regarding the number of audiences to attract for the fight well I can't comment on that, I got no statistics about this but if you will asked me if I will watch Mayweather vs. Mosley, well, the answer is YES. Not because I am a fan of Mayweather but because I like to see Mayweather prove his point that he is really the true pound for pound king and at the same time, I like to see if he can loose to Mosley and what will be his reactions (what will be his pretty face) will look like after a defeat. A scene that I think a lot of boxing fanatics love to see.
Well if Mayweather will lost on Mayweather vs. Mosley on May 1 then there will be no hope for future Pacquiao vs. Mayweather fight.
How about you? What's your reaction about the statement of Mayweather about Pacquiao?
